Tuesday, May 24, 2022
HomeMarijuana LegislationState-By-State Guide To Cannabis Age Requirements

State-By-State Guide To Cannabis Age Requirements

While you may want to buy legal cannabis at the age of 18, that will be quite impossible since provisions and policies put in place by weed legalized states do not permit it.

This article originally appeared on Cannabis.net and has been reposted with permission.

Election Day 2012 saw voters in Colorado approve a ballot initiative to legalize the recreational sale and use of cannabis. This bold step by the citizens of Colorado saw the state become the first to do so in all of the United States.

Since then, 17 other states, Guam, and Washington, D.C., have followed suit, and public support for cannabis legalization has significantly grown. However, the recreational use of cannabis is still very much illegal at the federal level.

marijuana saless
Photo by Ivan-balvan/Getty Images

While many states have legalized the recreational and medical use of cannabis, the approach and policies of each state differ. To this end, a young person needs to know what applies in each state to avoid the wrath of the law.

Here are the states where the recreational sale and use of cannabis is legal:

  • Colorado
  • Alaska
  • Washington
  • Oregon
  • California
  • Washington, D.C.
  • Maine
  • Nevada
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Connecticut
  • Guam
  • Vermont
  • Illinois
  • Montana
  • Arizona
  • New Jersey
  • Virginia
  • New York
  • New Mexico

As mentioned earlier, each of these states has specific provisions for the buying, sale, and amount of cannabis an adult can legally possess. These states also have different rules as regards adult growing cannabis plants for personal recreational use. However, one similarity these states share is that individuals above the age of 21 years can legally buy and use cannabis for recreational purposes. Here are the provisions and legalization measures in each state.

Colorado

In Colorado, adults above the age of 21 years can give away and also possess a maximum of one ounce of cannabis. Adults are also allowed to cultivate six cannabis plants each. Although, residences are restricted to a maximum of 12 plants regardless of the number of people residing there. Public consumption of cannabis is also illegal in Colorado.

Washington

In Washington, adults above the age of 21 years can possess and buy a maximum of 16 ounces of solid cannabis-infused edibles, an ounce of cannabis, 7 grams of cannabis concentrated, and 72 ounces of liquid cannabis-infused products. However, public consumption of cannabis is also illegal in Washington, and adults are banned from growing cannabis plants for personal recreational use.

Alaska

In Alaska, adults above the age of 21 years can possess and buy a maximum of one ounce of cannabis and can cultivate a maximum of six cannabis plants. Public consumption of cannabis is also illegal in Alaska. You can visit any of the licensed dispensaries to buy cannabis legally within the state.

Oregon

The state of Oregon allows adults above the age of 21 years to buy or possess a maximum of one ounce of cannabis in public and a maximum of 8 ounces on private property. Adults are also allowed to possess a max of 16 ounces of solid cannabis-infused edibles or 72 ounces of liquid cannabis-infused products. Adults can also grow a max of four marijuana plants while public use of cannabis is illegal across the state.

Washington, D.C.

Adults in Washington D.C., can buy or possess a max of 2 ounces of cannabis and can gift a max of an ounce to another person. It is also legal for adults to grow a max of six cannabis plants in their homes. However, as of now recreational sale of cannabis is illegal in D.C.

California

Adults above the age of 21 years can buy, possess, or gift a max of one ounce of marijuana and a max of 8 ounces of concentrated marijuana. Public consumption of marijuana is prohibited and illegal.

RELATED: Grading Every State’s Medical Marijuana Program — How Well Did Your State Do?

Photo by Ethan Miller/Staff/Getty Images

Maine

Adults above the age of 21 years can buy, possess, or gift a max of one-ounce cannabis and grow a max of 12 young cannabis plants and 6 flowering plants.

Massachusetts

Adults above the age of 21 years can possess a max of one ounce of cannabis in public space and a max of 10 ounces on private property. Adults are also allowed to cultivate six cannabis plants each. Although, residences are restricted to a maximum of 12 plants regardless of the number of people residing there.

Nevada

Adults above the age of 21 years can buy or possess, a max of one ounce of marijuana and a max of ⅛ of an ounce of concentrated cannabis. Adults are also allowed to cultivate six cannabis plants each or 12 cannabis plants for every household.

Michigan

Adults above the age of 21 years can buy or possess, max of 2.5 ounces of marijuana and a max of 15 grams of concentrated cannabis. Adults are also allowed to cultivate 12 cannabis plants for every household.

Vermont

The state of Vermont makes legal, only the possession and cultivation of cannabis plants. Both the sale and purchase of cannabis are illegal in the state. However, that will change come October 2022 once the state starts giving out licenses.

Presently, adults above the age of 21 years in Vermont can possess a max of an ounce of marijuana. Adults can also cultivate four immature and two mature cannabis plants for every household.

Guam

Adults above the age of 21 years in Guam can possess a max of an ounce of marijuana. Adults can also cultivate a max of six cannabis plants (max of three mature plants)

Illinois

The state of Illinois makes it legal for adults above the age of 21 years to possess 5 grams of concentrated marijuana, 30 grams of marijuana, and cannabis products with a maximum of 500mg of THC. While it’s legal to purchase these at the local dispensaries, public consumption is prohibited.

New Jersey  

The state of New Jersey makes it legal for adults about the age of 21 years to use cannabis both for medical and recreational use. Specific provisions are still under review.

RELATED: How Much Did New Jerseyans Spend On First Day Of Cannabis Sales?

New Jersey cannabis sales
People wait to enter the Apothecarium Dispensary on April 21, 2022 in Maplewood, New Jersey. Photo by Michael M. Santiago/Getty Images

Montana  

The state of Montana makes it legal for adults about the age of 21 years to use cannabis both for medical and recreational use

South Dakota  

Adults in South Dakota above the age of 21 years can distribute and possess a max of one ounce of cannabis.

Arizona 

Adults in Arizona above the age of 21 years can distribute and possess a limited amount of cannabis. While the provisions are still in the works, it has been speculated that public consumption will be banned and cannabis offenses will be cleared.

New York  

The state of New York makes it legal for adults above the age of 21 years to possess a max of 3 ounces of marijuana for recreational use. Individuals previously convicted of marijuana will have their offense records cleared.

Virginia 

In Colorado, adults above the age of 21 years can give away and also possess a maximum of one ounce of cannabis for recreational use. Adults are also allowed to cultivate a max of four marijuana plants.

New Mexico 

The state of New Mexico makes it legal for adults above the age of 21 years to possess a max of 2 ounces of marijuana. Adults are also allowed to cultivate six cannabis plants each or 12 cannabis plants for every household.

New Mexico Moves Closer To Marijuana Legalization
Photo by Sean Pavone/Getty Images

Connecticut 

The state of Connecticut makes it legal for adults above the age of 21 years to possess a max of 1.5 ounces of marijuana for recreational use. It is also legal for adults to possess a max of 5 ounces of weed in their homes or vehicles. The sale of legal cannabis is expected to kick off in the summer of 2022.

Conclusion

While you may want to buy legal cannabis at the age of 18, that will be quite impossible since provisions and policies put in place by weed legalized states do not permit it. You will need to wait a few extra years to buy your first legal cannabis, however, it’s best you still note the provisions peculiar to your state so you don’t fall ignorant of the law.

This article originally appeared on Cannabis.net and has been reposted with permission.

MUST READ

MORE BY THIS AUTHOR

Beyond CBD And THC: The Hottest Cannabinoids And Terpenes You Should Know

In recent years, researchers have discovered that there are other notable compounds in cannabis that are just as important as CBD and THC.  

Don't Miss Your Weekly Dose of The Fresh Toast.

Stay informed with exclusive news briefs delivered directly to your inbox every Friday.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe anytime.