Buckle up, Arkansas: You’re legally allowed to deliver medical marijuana in your state.
The Arkansas Alcoholic Beverage Control Board just approved delivery for state-licensed dispensaries.
Related Story: Kentucky Taking Close Look At Legal Weed in 2017
Of course, dispensary couriers can’t hop on your bike or car and roll out with the good shit. There are a few rules attached.
- Must be delivered between 7 a.m. and 9 p.m.
- Sent to private residences only, such as apartments or houses
- Must be bought and signed for by the medical marijuana cardholder
- No late night or overnight deliveries
- No dormitories, hotels, motels, bed and breakfasts or any other commercial business
As Marijuana Business Daily estimates, Arkansas’ medical marijuana program will likely see 15,000-30,000 patients three to five years in, with annual dispensary sales up to $30-60 million.
According to the Marijuana Policy Project, Arkansas has one of the most strict and harsh approaches to weed:
Possessing less than four ounces of marijuana is a misdemeanor carrying up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2,500. Possessing an ounce of marijuana or more by those who have twice been convicted of possession is a felony punishable by up to six years in prison and a fine of up to $6,000.
But when it comes to medical marijuana delivery, it’s staying ahead of the curve: Many legal states, including Washington and California, have strict laws around medical delivery.
Related Story: What You Need To Know About Obtaining Legal Weed In Maine
Official see Arkansas’ new delivery rules as a first-step in medical marijuana delivery across the state. “This is new territory I think for a lot of people in Arkansas,” said Dan Greenberg, the chair of the ABC board said, according to local news station KATV. “We want to make sure we hear from the public and we hear from just about all the stakeholders to make sure we’re meeting all our goals.”